Hidden Fields and Shortcodes

Home Forums Welcome! Pre-Sales Questions Hidden Fields and Shortcodes

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    AndrewJ

Hi there,
    I’m a developer, building a website (commercially) for a client who happens to be a Church.
    I love the functionality of the plugin but need more;
    Can I add hidden fields visible only to Admin. This would be to add a Resource start/finish time so that an event with public hours could also be used by Admin to show hidden resource (venue) time needed, typically 30 minutes before and after the event.

Secondly, we do need to develop a shortcode facility so that we can run the regular calendar on the Events page, Event on the Single event page and extract a “This month” element to insert on a page as a “monthly snapshot”.

I’m happy to have my guys develop this if you’d be kind enough to offer your input/tech reasons why you haven’t already done this.

Obviously I can’t use Widgets to shortcodes since it isn’t widgetized; I simply know what my client wants and so far, yours is the closest (and best) I’ve seen.

regards

AndrewJ

Josh
    Participant

Hey Andrew,

Thanks for reaching out to us!

There are a couple of options that you could pursue that would allow you to supply additional meta information for each event that is only visible within the admin area.

1. <span style=”line-height: 13px;”>You could take advantage of the “Additional Fields” section that we have within The Events Calendar settings. However, by default these will display on the front-end of the site so you’ll need to filter the output to hide your custom meta.</span>
    2. You could take advantage of a third-party custom meta plugin such as Advanced Custom Fields. Since our events utilize built in WordPress Custom Post Type functionality, you can define custom metaboxes just for events. You could create the additional fields that you need and then just opt to not display them on the front-end of your site.